pbjelly

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
Hi All,

I'm a total SW noob, but I've become fascinated by reef tanks and am starting to do research to start my own at home.

For various reasons I've decided on a 14 gallon Bio-Cube. I'm looking forward to being able to connect with other local nano-tank people and hopefully get the benefit of your experience.

My first question is where in NYC do you recommend for buying live rock?

I've seen these online services that ship live rock from Florida, and people seem really happy with them, but I think I only need 15-20 pounds of rock and the 100 pound minimum air freight surcharge is a killer. I'd be willing to do it if it's the only alternative, but I'm hoping that you can recommend some local places that have live rock that you would start a tank with.

Here's the catch - I have no car, so Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens are all pretty easy. (except during tropical storms where all mass transit gets closed down.) I can do The Bronx, but it starts getting complicated, Long Island and Westchester are a real haul and Staten Island is pretty much impossible.

Who's your LFS? Would you recommend that I get live rock there?

Thanks so much, - pb

DrMusik

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
15   0   0
best bet is to watch this site until something comes up that works for you. Might take a week or so but you can usually get away with 2.50-4.00 per lb here vs. 8 a lb at any LFS in the city.

BrooklynReef

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 50%
2   2   0
Petco, Union Sq.

Petco in Union Square on 14th has good deals. I searched all over nyc and honestly it was the first and best place I found. They are getting rid of their FL rock soon. They sell it by the piece not the pound. Which works out better, especially because some are much larger than others. They have it in three sizes $10, 15, 24 (I think). I like that rock the best, it also happens to be the cheapest. They also have Fiji rock. I think its around $75 per 35lbs.