Just fish or Fish and plants? - Page 2 - Reefs.com

Home  / Forums  / Global Forums  / Freshwater  /  Just fish or Fish and plants?
Reply
partobe is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 567
07-26-2011, 10:55 PM
  #11  
Thanks Jeff will def check out the site and take you up on your offer. Im going to fish town tomorrow to look at tanks just not sure if I should go rock or sand. Would rather go wit sand just not sure how I would clean it
 
jeffvmd's Avatar
jeffvmd is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 712
07-27-2011, 01:47 AM
  #12  
They have a decent selection for freshwater stuff. Not sure if they have different substrates in stock though.
I usually just get most FW stuff online (cheaper and better selection).
It depends on what look you want for the substrate if fine or coarse.
If you go with sand, be sure to get some malaysian trumpet snails or cories to stir up the substrate. Root tabs are needed for sand too.
As for cleaning substrate on a planted tank, I don't. So better to have a darker colored substrate too.
As long as you don't overfeed and have a good scavenging crew, gravel clean up is not necessary.

Last edited by jeffvmd; 07-27-2011 at 02:35 PM.
 
partobe is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 567
07-27-2011, 06:47 AM
  #13  
Thanks Jeff
I def like the look of sand better and I was thinking of painting the back of the tank black and put black sand in the tank. What are root tabs and how do I administer them? I had been told to use Excel is this the same thing? Does a planted tank need more flow? I was also thinking underground filter along with a hob filter?
Thanks for all your help
 
jeffvmd's Avatar
jeffvmd is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 712
07-27-2011, 02:32 PM
  #14  
Root tabs are fertilizer tabs that you put in gravel near the rooted plants.
Lots of different brands but I use the rootmedic line (Check out his site and usually order during one of his sales, better check tpt for great deals on his ferts line too).

Excel is just an organic carbon source and not the fertilizer itself. You need this if you don't have CO2 supply running and you want your tank to fill up fast with plants. Not really a necessity if you don't mind plants growing slowly. I have a non co2, non excel infused tank and its doing ok.
There is seachem line of ferts that go with it but there are better options of liquid ferts or even dry powder ferts. I again use the liquid macronutrient and micronutrient supplements from Rootmedic. Easy to use and just 2 bottles to dispense (compared to other liquid ferts that has separate macro[N,P,K] and micro).
You can also go the dry powder type which are way cheaper in the long run. I just chose liquid for ease of use.

As for flow, it needs just enough flow to avoid dead spots. Unlike in reefs that we usually tend to go with more flow. You can start by going wih a filter one rating higher than your tank and then just go from there.

An underground filter may be a bit troublesome when you have sand. A hob will do. Better if you go canister to avoid a clutter of equipment in and around the tank.

What do you plan to keep in it in terms of fauna?

Last edited by jeffvmd; 07-28-2011 at 10:46 AM.
 
partobe is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 567
07-30-2011, 06:00 AM
  #15  
Thanks Jeff
so should I buy some fertilizer now and put it in when I put the plants in? I ordered 3 bags of Eco- complete plant substrate (balck).
 
jeffvmd's Avatar
jeffvmd is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 712
07-30-2011, 11:01 AM
  #16  
Yup. Better to get the ferts now. Are you planning to use excel as carbon source or do you plan to inject CO2 in the future?
Check out in the DIY of TPT, I'm using a similar CO2 set up as jaggedfury http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/di...etup-tons.html.
Works fine and is relatively cheap way to go pressurized.
 
partobe is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 567
08-03-2011, 05:56 AM
  #17  
thanks Jeff you have pm
 

Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes