oonycxwilloo

Vendor
Rating - 100%
163   0   0
ok heres the deal...i got a 29g tank and i'm new at this hobby....wat watt and K should the light bulb be at... should i get a lamp with 2 switches for the black light and the regular light or should i get a lamp with 1 switch...i'm planning to have reefs in the tank and invertabrates...so how can i figure out what kind of lighting i should get...and....how much will it cost me...

Bcause my mom just bought me a light...it is

Brand: Coralife
it is a double linear strip 10,000k daylight and true actinic 03 blue t5 fluorescent lamps.
18watt 10,000k
18watt true actinic 03 blue t5 fluorescent lamp
1 switch to turn on both lamps

Last edited:

nanoreefer22

Live Sale Pioneer
Staff member
Rating - 100%
345   0   0
First what kind of coral do you want to have?

That lighting is very very very low for the tank. The combination of those two bulbs is good though. 10K is good for growth. The higher the K the bluer the light. Depending on what you want to keep, look in the T5's or Power compact lighting. For a tank that size 110watt's of Power compact lighting should be enough for soft corals.

oonycxwilloo

Vendor
Rating - 100%
163   0   0
well what is power compact lighting and....the 110 watts you have mention are those the same watts as the 18watts that i have? and please tell me what is appopriate for my tank the wattage of both the blue light and the white light

nanoreefer22

Live Sale Pioneer
Staff member
Rating - 100%
345   0   0
This is power compact lighting http://www.hellolights.com/302xcoaqpcho.html

I'm not saying to buy that fixture cause I'm sure you could find a cheaper one in the For Sale forum here. Just a link to what it is. Search around that site and you'll find most of the types of lights that available.

You have the option of VHO's(Very High Output), HO T5 bulbs(Someone else could help you with this), Metal Halides, and Power Compacts.