LeslieS

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
9   0   0
Hi Everyone,

I am new to aquariums and to posting so any advise on either would be really welcome!!

Most publications said to buy the best you can afford the first time around in order to save headache later. So here goes. It is all still on order so if you have input, there is still time to make changes.

My tank is a 120 gallon roomdivider with a 30 gallon sump/refugium underneath.

1/4 HP chiller and 1 300W heater

2 30" T5 light units (the tank is tall)

125 Coralife skimmer

wave maker and 3 power heads

50lb live rock (It was suggested that I buy 100, but I like the idea of cultured live rock and wanted to order that later. Any thoughts?)

live sand

check valve

water pump

reef sea test, salt water master test, reef solution, purple up, KDU marine buffer

I also see an algae pad on my receipt. The LFGuy who was very knowledgable and informative went over it with me, but I cannot remember exactly what this is?

Also, my LFguy suggested that when he helps me set up the tank, he will add a chemical (sorry, forgot the name) and that I should cylcle my tank with only the blue light. This would make the coraline algae cover the rocks faster. Any thoughts on that?

Sorry for so much in my first posting! There is so much to learn. Everybook I read seems to say something different...

:flower:

Chiefmcfuz

Old School Reefer
Rating - 100%
47   0   0
Sounds good, most people use salifert test kits here just an FYI oh and the more live rock the better. Where are you located so we can see it when it's done with it's cycle and has some livestock in it?

What are your plans for the tank Mixed reef Fish only or are you going with SPS only?

Reefer420

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
15   0   0
well as a general rule i would get at least 2lbs of LR per gallon...and unless you are going for a deep sand bed about 1lb sand per gallon (should make about a 1-2" layer of sand on the tank bottom).