flipit13

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
24   0   0
i am new to this hobby cause my daughters saw a friends tank and have a few questions.

i have decided between 2 nano cubes.
jbj with hqi light & the oceanic biocube

i have been told by a few people the jbj will need a chiller is this true and is it that much better than the biocube from oceanic. i had a 140 custom tank many years ago which was a fish only. but now i want to really wow my girls and see if they dont loose interest in the hobby. that is why i am going with a small tank

any help would be great
thanks
rick

SaltyFlip

Percula Agent
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
IMO it all depends on your lighting and the power of your pump. I have a JBJ 12g nano cube dx and I upgraded my pumps and my lights are 2 10K 50/50 PC lights so with those things it can raise the temp a little bit...the fan on the hood of my JBJ helps and a small fan facing the top ( I crack the hood open a little bit ). For hooded tank like these it's best to make sure you have space where heat can dissipate or else be sure your tank can and will get hot.

flipit13

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
24   0   0
thanks saltyflip. its the unit that has 4 fans i guess i might be ok. i just dont want the extra spending on a chiller if i dont have to. the 2 places i went to today said i dont need that kind of light cause it will get to hot. i just like the deal i can get on it and would hate to get it and then have to spend more later on upgrading the light
thanks
rick

jck16

Rating - 100%
52   0   0