nitrate too high? - Reefs.com

Home  / Forums  / Global Forums  / Reefs for Beginners  /  nitrate too high?
Reply
beefbroccoli's Avatar
beefbroccoli is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
nitrate too high?
02-02-2006, 11:45 PM
  #1  
hi guys, jsut check the water, ammonia and nitrite is 0, but nitrate is about 30, and ph is 8.4. are they too high? how can i lower them?
i use saltwater master liquid test kit to check the water.
also, is it normal to have algea on the rock and sand? i added a PC (2x65w) lately, then the green algea starts to grow. i do use tap water, but added some prime water conditioner to it. will that really help to control the algea?
i have couple frags and 2 damsel in the tank right now, can i add more coral or fish?
thanks
 
Tonyscoots84's Avatar
Tonyscoots84 is offline
REEF ON!
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,508
02-02-2006, 11:53 PM
  #2  
ummmm problemooo beefbroccoli... tap water no mater where u are is a no no. when it comes to marine or even freshwater tanks.. rodi is the way to go.. i would stop using tap and go get yourself a rodi unit immediatly.. it will save u a bunch of headaches. with enough water changes and once u get rid of the nitrates ur algae will eventually go away... umm what are your tank specs.. everything we need to no.

size of tank
lighting
ph
alkalinity
lbs of live rock
lbs of sand (what kind of sand did you use)
silicates in the tank (theres a tester for this also another cause of algae)

give us all the information (more than what i listed) to help us help u better..

thanks anthony
__________________




200DD Upgrade


RIP Frank (FRY). You will be missed.
 
R32Brightliner's Avatar
R32Brightliner is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 358
02-03-2006, 12:08 AM
  #3  
Tap water is bad. Get yourself an RO/DI unit. Tap water along with your high nitrates is what is most likely contributing to your algae problem.

What are your tank specs and parameters and lighting?

Also, how old/established is this tank?
 
jackson6745's Avatar
jackson6745 is offline
SPS KILLER
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,927
02-03-2006, 01:20 AM
  #4  
Quote:
Originally Posted by beefbroccoli
hi guys, jsut check the water, ammonia and nitrite is 0, but nitrate is about 30, and ph is 8.4. are they too high? how can i lower them?
i use saltwater master liquid test kit to check the water.
also, is it normal to have algea on the rock and sand? i added a PC (2x65w) lately, then the green algea starts to grow. i do use tap water, but added some prime water conditioner to it. will that really help to control the algea?
i have couple frags and 2 damsel in the tank right now, can i add more coral or fish?
thanks
Beef, read the sticky post for beginners on the top of this forum. You really need to provide more info it you want helpful advice.
__________________
Rich
----------------------------



Jackson's 115G SPS Cube
 
nycmat's Avatar
nycmat is offline
nYo
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,154
02-03-2006, 10:19 AM
  #5  
also grow some chaeto in your sump. and you need a ro also look into where are you located??
__________________
broncos, yankees rule!!

nYo the best damn clan in COD4, MW2, BO, MW3

Jaba Fett , broncsyanks, PHILY!!! PROPS, deanos < salute >, Widdy, Fish Ballz 4 U!

The best damn clan. This Patron's for you!!
 
beefbroccoli's Avatar
beefbroccoli is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
02-03-2006, 10:22 AM
  #6  
thanks guys, thaks for the help, here is something i know:

tank--- 20 gallon tank, set it up about 5 weeks, i had fresh water fish in this tank before, but i wash it
PH---8.4
ammonia---0
nitrite---0
nitrate---between 20-40
test kit---saltwater master liquid test kit
lighting--- 2x65w PC, put it on about 10 hrs/ day
live rock--- 25 to 30lbs
sand--- 30lbs, got it from a lfs, forgot what brand/type
salinity--- 1.04
temp. --- 80 degrees
alkalinity/Phosphate/Calcium/Magnesium--- don't know, just ordered some of them
livestock---i currently have 2 damsel and 2 frag, a zoo in the tank for about 10 days. b4 i add all this, the PH was about 8.0, also, i added 10 snails 2 days ago to eat the algea. is this the reason the ph went up?

also, i have a skimmer for about 2 weeks. b4 i have the skimmer, i jsut use a regular hang on the back filter to filter the water, and i did use tap water, but i added some water conditioner in it, this water conditioner claim can remove ammonia/nitrite/ nitrate from tap water, also i used some starter kit by Kent to speed up the cycle

thanks

jason
 
Deanos's Avatar
Deanos is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13,410
02-03-2006, 10:42 AM
  #7  
Recheck the salinity! That number is too high. What did you measure it with? Also, what type of skimmer is it?
 
beefbroccoli's Avatar
beefbroccoli is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
02-03-2006, 10:45 AM
  #8  
oh, the salinity might be 1.o34, its in the range of the deepsix hydrometer, the skimmer i got it from drsforestsmith, i think its typhoon or something
 
Deanos's Avatar
Deanos is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13,410
02-03-2006, 10:53 AM
  #9  
While some hydrometers are known for their inaccuracy, a salinity reading of 1.034 is something to be very concerned about. If possible, have it double-checked by a LFS using a more reliable method, i.e. a refractometer.
 
cali_reef's Avatar
cali_reef is offline
Fish and Coral Killer
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,728
02-03-2006, 11:59 AM
  #10  
Deanos, I have not walked into a LFS in NY that uses a refratometer yet. The dudes at FT don't even know what it is.
 

Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes