hijinks

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
18   0   0
Hey guys.. I've been lurking here for a bit and decided to post. I'm pretty new to the hobby. I've done freshwater but being the do it yourself that I am and also always wanting to upgrade, I figure salt water is a good thing to try.

I have a 46g bow front and I'm wondering what kind of lighting would be the best for me. From what I know certain corals need more light then others. I think just to start I want hardy corals and fish. I'm also looking for a setup with moonlights since I think they look good but also read they are beneficial to the tank.

So if anyone has any tips I'd love to hear it.. I've tried to talk to some LFS workers but I'd rather hear people's opinions that don't want my money.

Also I'd rather not get a chiller at this stage. If one is needed I guess I will have to open the wallet some more.

Thanks!

meschaefer

One to Ignore
Rating - 100%
30   0   0
Hey guys.. I've been lurking here for a bit and decided to post. I'm pretty new to the hobby. I've done freshwater but being the do it yourself that I am and also always wanting to upgrade, I figure salt water is a good thing to try.

I have a 46g bow front and I'm wondering what kind of lighting would be the best for me. From what I know certain corals need more light then others. I think just to start I want hardy corals and fish. I'm also looking for a setup with moonlights since I think they look good but also read they are beneficial to the tank.

So if anyone has any tips I'd love to hear it.. I've tried to talk to some LFS workers but I'd rather hear people's opinions that don't want my money.

Also I'd rather not get a chiller at this stage. If one is needed I guess I will have to open the wallet some more.

Thanks!

Hi, and welcome to Manhattan Reefs.