• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

mikey98

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am a new reef guy and i am just starting out. I have a 55 gallon glass tank and I want to put 4 55w PC lights. I am considering just buying a prmade canopy(not hood) or building my own. Does anyone have any feeling on this. I have very good metal working tool and skill but no wood tools. So if i built one I was going to use alluminum. What do you think the cost diffrence would be. Sofar I have found no canopys that were set up with PCs.

Any suggestions would help

Thanks,

Mikey

jchonline

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That is a tough call. I built my own, and in retrospect you need to ask yourself a few questions before you decide.
1. How important are looks?
2. Will I ever want to upgrade and add fans/lights?
3. Can I modify a bought canopy for cheaper?

I have a 75G with 4 96W PC's (AH Supply makes good kits, I recommend them). I decided to make my canopy b/c I wanted it to be higher off the water than the storebought ones and I wanted the room to add MH if need be. If you build your own, I recommend if you want it to look good you need some experience with woodworking (furniture, etc). If you try to do it without the experience, make sure your answer to Q 1 above is NO. When I built mine, I saw one for $80 at a LFS. In retrospect, I should have bought it. I spent about $70 building mine, and it does not look quite as good (and I have woodworking experience). However, I am glad I built mine with 1x10's, b/c the lights are over 9 inches from the water. This makes cooling much easier and negates the need for a chiller in my case. It is a tough decision. Good luck.

gt8448a

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0