• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

liquid

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd like to get some feeback from all of the DIY folks that have worked with various waterproofing materials for woods. I would like to take a poll to find out what products (Manufacturer and product name) that people have used to waterproof the insides of their hoods. In a couple of searches prior to posting this, I have found that people tend to use Spar varnish, RVT silicone, and the like to completely seal and protect their hoods, stands, etc, from saltwater, humidity, and whatnot.

I am a coatings chemist by trade so I have access to accelerated weathering equipment (saltspray, UV resistance) and other physical property testing apparatus'. My thought is to take maybe the top 5-10 products that people recommend and subject the coatings to various testing scenarios to find the best product out there for use with high intensity lighting and saltwater for waterproofing wood inside a hood or where contact with saltwater, humidity, etc, is common. Some initial thoughts that come to mind are that the coating in question will have to have superior UV resistance (halides and HQI setups put out a fair amount of UV), moisture resistance (humidity, saltwater splashing, etc), the ability to expand/contract without cracking, and the like. ASTM standards for coatings testing will be followed in this testing regeme. The thought is to also test two or three species of wood as well such as pine, oak, etc.

Please post the manufacturer name, product name, and where you purchased the product.

The thought is that after this testing is complete that I will write up and submit the results to Advanced Aquarist for potential publication.

Looking forward to the responses! Thanks!
icon_smile.gif

Shane

jazzyreef

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0