• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

linuxpng

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am running a small reef (55 gal) right now and am working on the money for a bigger tank. Is anyone willing to diagram how you could, in theory, construct a sump to contain a refugium? I have zero knowledge of sump design and plumbing. I will be taking the design to a fish store to have it constructed for me and hopefully learn in the process. Thanks ahead of time.

Mac1

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you're trying to save money for a larger tank, I'd hold off on getting/building a refugium for your existing one (unless you're a couple years away from that new one).

That being said.... The design idea is fairly simple. Consider a sump... is really nothing more than a container for some water, w/ hopefully a few baffles in it, and the water flows from one end (where it is received from the tank), to the other (where it is pumped back to the tank).
Following me so far?

Somewhere in between those two area's, you want a couple baffles, and there's your refugium!

| Input | refuge | Output |
|______|_________|__________|

That's really all there is to it. You can get crazy, and do all sorts of things, but that's a little more involved, and like I said, if I was moving to a bigger tank, I wouldn 't waste any more money upgrading my existing one.

I speak from experience there as well (not to change the topic or anything, but...) Built a new hood for my 90-reef, and when it was almost finished, the Mrs. told me I could get a bigger tank! Know anyone that wants a never-used, brand new DIY hood for a 90 gallon?

- Mac

linuxpng

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's ok that the stuff in the 'fuge is subject to so much water flow? I was concerned that since the main pump will be turning over the tank 6+ times an hour that the water flow would be to high for the 'fuge inhabitants. Thanks for the help.

aliendomain

Experienced Reefer