• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

meathelmet75

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i am planning on building a 300g acrylic tank. I have never built a tank out of acrylic before, and I am wondering if there are differnt types to use or are they all the same?
Also are there any unexpected suprises that come along with building an acrylic tank. rather than glass? i have built a 55g glass tank before with no problems, but now i want to go bigger.

O P Ing

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hi.
Two main types of acrylic is extruded and casted. For aquarium, use cell-casted acrylic becaused it is stronger.

Before doing a 300 gal, you may want to make a 120 gal first. The toxicity and special handling of the solvent used in acrylic work, and the weight of the panel for a 300 gal tank make it more difficult if you want to make one the very first time.

O P Ing

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hi.
When you done with your smaller tank, I am more than willing to "test" it for you if you ship it to me :wink:

meathelmet75

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ill think abiut it where are you located? ive been doing research on types of glass, and found a substance called PETG glass it is supposed to be stronger,clearer more scratch resistant and easier to form, than cast acrylic its chaeper too has anyone ever heard of it before?

O P Ing

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
...PETG glass it is supposed to be ...clearer ...than cast acrylic
hi.
Don't know about the other physical properties, but I can tell you that no silicone-based glass is clearer than clear acrylic. Where did you hear that from? Maybe they are comparing a clear PETG glass to a black piece of cast acrylic or something.

One of the least green glass is called Starphire(tm). A few people who want a large glass tank decided to use this type of expensive glass, and with good result. For 240 gal or smaller, regular glass should be fine.