• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

minus_3

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Bear with me all... I am a newb and am getting started with my very first tank. Here's my dilemma: I have a tank that I bought a year ago, a perfecto 46 bow-front tank :? . Anyhow, I just made a larger home for the reptile that was in the tank originally and am ready to convert the tank into a nano-reef.

With that said, after doing much reading, I am definitely set on using a sump for my tank. The problem is, I don't want to have to use an external overflow. In other words, I want a drilled tank, preferably the bottom, but I would settle for the back. From what I understand, the entire tank is tempered glass :(. So what options do I have?

1. Can the bottom be changed to non-tempered glass with pre-drilled holes?

2. If not, can the back be changed to non-tempered glass with pre-drilled holes?

3. If 1 or 2 is possible, what size should these holes be, at what height (assuming I have to drill the back and the height is 21"), and will I only need two?

Forgive me if these questions are really stupid. I don't have an unlimited budget and I am trying to use the tank and stand that I already have. They are both relatively new and have a really nice design. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for any responses!

liquid

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi minus_3 and

rdo_welcome.gif

:P