• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

rwillden

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am an Audio Visual installer, and we have a 42" Plasma (Flat Screen) display that is broken. I want to gut it, build an acrylic tank that will fit inside it (approximately 4" deep X 24" tall X 36" wide) and hang it on my wall as a "nano reef." I plan on installing 2- 55 Watt Power Compact bulbs in the top for light, etc...

Does anyone have any suggestions? I think this would be a great novelty, to fill with a few small fish some soft corals, and some Caulerpa, etc...

Also, do you think I will need some type of a power filter on this, or some type of filtration? If so, what do you suggest.

Thanks for your input,
Ryan

Len

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sounds like an interesting idea! How wide (front to back) were you planning on? I imagine if it's anything that's hangable, it would have to be extremely thin and very difficult to aquascape. If it's really thin, fish are out of the question, unfortunately.

I'd probably plumb it to a canister filter to reduce space a hang-on filter needs behind the aquarium. It's not too hard to hide two 3/4" tubing or diguise them as industrial conduits or even thick power cords.

rwillden

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Front to back would only be about 4-6" depending on how it works out. I wondered if I could make some kind of a mechanical filter that would sit inside the Plasma case, and that I could access via one of the side panels on the plasma for easy cartridge/foam removal.

Hmmm..... I'll have to see what I can come up with.....

Ryan

Bleeding Blue

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ryan,