• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Meloco14

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm trying to decide whether to get a standard plug and play type ballast with a regular power cord and lamp cord or to upgrade to an Ice Cap electronic ballast. The only thing with the IC's is they need to be hard wired and don't have a standard lamp cord. Are they pretty easy to wire? I'm no electrician, but im not a complete newbie at wiring either, I've wired PC bulbs and ballasts, and done a lot of wiring in guitars and pedals and stuff. Just never hard wired anything before. Anyone have any experience with this? Could I just wire the Ice Cap to a standard three prong power cord and use an outlet? TIA

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Where did you heard that IC ballast can't be wired to plugged into an outlet? :?

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, the Icecap ballasts have three wires for hooking up to the power source, a hot, a neutral, and a ground. It is a snap to connect these wires to a plug that you can buy from any hardware store. These types of plugs typically separate into two pieces, the inner piece having screw connections around which you wrap the wires. It really is a no brainer (but remember that the green wire is the ground).

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You could use wire nuts or butt splices to connect the wires to a power cord. Not a big deal really. I would wrap them spices with several layers of black electrical tape, then cover the whole thing with a type of flexible platic tubing that is sliced down the center. This flexible covering will protect the wires, spices, and is also available at Home Depot.

Louey

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Louey":1wgezyit said: