• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

A

Anonymous

This is really simple, but I lack the tools to bend acrylic, as far as I know. I could make the bends straight, but I think it would look better as one piece. Are the tools to bend it expensive? What would I need to buy to make this?

Attachments

• acrylicoverflow.jpg
    acrylicoverflow.jpg
    12 KB · Views: 1,017
A

Anonymous

You need James.

I think acrylic can be bent fairly easily using heat, but I have no first hand experience bending it.

You could probably get your local plastics fabricator to build this for you. You would need to show more detail in your drawing. Might be a tad pricey, but getting the quote should be free.

How is this thing going to work?

Louey

Fatal Morgana

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is Little James ;)

You need to get the heating stripe from plastic shop. You can also make it yourself with heating wire, but that's more than most DIYer want to do, and can be dangerous. It is about $15 to $35 depend on the length. Besides heating stripe, obvously you need acrylic, solvent cement, and acrylic cutter. For the "L" side piece, you probably want to use router to cut it.

If you are the macho type, you maybe able to bent the front and back pieces using heat gun by laying the acrylic on a piece of metal rod.

Die hard reefer bents thin acrylic using a power compact bulb <brag>. Yes, it is hot enough to get the job done, but you may want to make sure the acrylic does not stick to the bulb afterward... obvious James will never give this borderline advice like I do.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use the $20 heat gun method. Lay it over the edge of the table and heat both sides until it bends over.

Then I sand the corner where it bends. For some reason the edges bulge out when I bend acrylic. If i don't sand the edges, there's a bump when I try to glue it together.

B

Fatal Morgana

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0