• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

cesar357

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my first time to install a sump so I would like your opinion. I will be placing a 20 gallon sump under my 60 gallon main display tank. The 20 gallon sump is 30"L X 12"W X 12"Tall.

Now I would like to know how would you divide that to place the return zone, intake zone and refugium zone?

Im thinking im going to need baffles to divide all the compartments, so how would you divide that.

Another thing I might want to mention is that the return pump is rated at 1017 gph so I need to take that in consideration. Some people say that the space is limited due to the fact that the water going through there is very strong.

What do you think?

cesar357

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Actually I will. Im trying to figure out how I am going to fit it under that stand I have because I just made some last checks and noticed that the stand is quite small inside. Im going to place an ASM Skimmer in there but I might have to change plans because of stand size issues. I was thinking of getting a custom acrylic sump with a buddy of mine but I think that's not going to work, man im getting very fustrated.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
External sumps refugiums can be very fustrating. You are correct to think it out first.

I recommend you test, test , and then test some more. Make sure the sump does not flood during a power outage. And the display does not flood when power returns. And try to insure flooding does no happen if an overflow gets plugged or otherwise fails.

Most do use baffels. If there is no room for a seperate container for a refugium, then you might put the refug section on one side, the filter section on the other with the return line and pump in the center. That way you can still "tee" off a line to the refug, have slower flow with a higher water level on the refug side.