• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

jlneng

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All,
I have been lucky enough to receive an Allen Bradley SLC500 PLC with a Panelview 550 Touchscreen free of charge from a friend who works at an AB distributor. I work as an Electrical Controls Engineer so the opportunity to automate my 125 Gal Reef Tank is right up my alley. I am going to use the system to simulate dawn and dusk with Actinic only, daylight with Actinics and 10K CFL's, and moonlight with (3) 1 Watt LED's. Also am going to use the system to simulate random switching of powerheads for differing flow patterns. One great aspect is that I can control multiple devices at the push of a button such as turning off the Aqua lifter, sump pump and protein skimmer powerhead simultaneously while I do routine maintenance. I used to have unplug the lifter, run into the basement and shut off the sump pump and skimmer powerhead. I know many of you go through the same drill. I know that this is wretched excess and overkill but an Electrical Engineer should have a fully automated control system for his reef! If anyone has any more automation ideas that I could incorporate into the system, please chime in....

Attachments

• pviewmount.jpg
    pviewmount.jpg
    53.7 KB · Views: 1,897
  • spagetti.jpg
    spagetti.jpg
    90.2 KB · Views: 1,898
  • spot2.jpg
    spot2.jpg
    94.4 KB · Views: 1,897
A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Some have dosing pumps that dose CA/Alk/I/Mg automatically via PLC, as well as trouble-avoidance (overflow, leak, etc) and auto-top off.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Okay. I am officially as jealous as possible. :P

Good luck. Please post pictures and details of this project as it progresses. I'd love to see how it all works. ;)

Louey

smontanus

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0