silverfox

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
I'm a real newbie. This is my first saltwater tank and it is currently cycling. I emptied my crushed coral bags into my water and didn't rinse anything off . Now my tank is cloudy but after a couple of hours it clears up. Once I hit the crushed coral it gets all cloudy again. Do I need to empty my tank and start all over or is there another way to go about this? Is this normal? Thank you in advance.

Rating - 100%
6   0   0
You should have rinsed the coral but since you didnt its ok you need to wait it out anyway most new tanks will start out cloudy at the beginning and I am talking about 5 - 10 days cloudy and some tanks even stay cloudy for weeks or until the cycling is done. Most people will tell u not to get fish yet but if you must get some fish that are stress free. Throw in some food like krill or silverside in there it will get the cycle going faster

silverfox

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
O.K. The tank cleared up all the way within one day. I tried to move the crushed coral around this morning and now it's all cloudy again. It seems to be on my bio balls as well. I do also have some live rock in the tank is this going to kill it?

junglebase

Will always be a Newbie..
Rating - 99.4%
166   1   0
O.K. The tank cleared up all the way within one day. I tried to move the crushed coral around this morning and now it's all cloudy again. It seems to be on my bio balls as well. I do also have some live rock in the tank is this going to kill it?

Why do you have to move the crushed coral around?

Dre

Rating - 100%
243   0   0
Well since you say you are a real Newbie,tell us more about your setup and what you plan on keeping.We can help you get on a successfull path.:fish::flower::goldfish2

duke62

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
224   0   0