A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not legal to posses in the US with out a permit so doesn't matter if he can ship it.

bobimport

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Re Ugly Ricordea funny I have been selling football size ricordea for $100+ nope no Elk Horn trying not to go to the gray bar hotel try this Isophyllia sinuosa Scolymia lacera Scolymia cubensis ( all over the place) Mussa angulosa 12" across
and oh yes red rodactus

mpedersen

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I ask solely out of curiousity as I am planning a Florida-themed display reef but have NOT yet researched my corals (in other words, I'm asking a question that given research, I could probably find an answer to somewhere else. Fish breeding is my thing...yo.).

Is it legal to possess the Florida type Fire Corals I saw growing off the Keys? Is this species permitted or outlawed in the US?

jhemdal1

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Matt,

My understanding, (but I'm NOT a lawyer!) is that Caribbean stony corals that are found growing on FARMED live rock are legal for sale in the U.S. However, Acropora palmata and A. cervicornis are ESA listed - so any possesion of those would likely still be illegal unless there was a permit granted. Millepora should be fine if it is growing on cultured live rock. ANY wild collected stony corals are highly illegal of course.

Jay Hemdal

p.s. - see you at the MBI conference in a couple of weeks?

mpedersen

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
[email protected]":1j7v0mgr said:
Collection of coral in Florida is regulated, but legal for most varieties (not staghorn, elkhorn or fire coral though). See:

http://www.eregulations.com/florida/fis ... /pageFlip/

Page 10.

Jeff