Rating - 100%
3   0   0
Hi, I'm new to the hobby and decided to just dive right in and try my hand at a reef aquarium. I purchased the Red Sea Max 130D, added saltwater, put in 24 pounds of fully cured live rock (the tank size is 34 gallons) and waited for it to cycle. So far, it's been about a week and a half and the ammonia level is still too high. A couple of quick questions:

1) Does it usually take this long even with fully cured live rock? I was under the impression from various sources that cycling should only take about a couple of days (essentially the live rock with all its organisms would be able to process the waste chemicals right away).

2) I noticed a lot of brown algae growing on the rocks and green algae growing on the inside of the glass. This may be due to me leaving the lights on for about 10 hours a day. Should I be keeping up a regular lighting schedule? How would I eventually be able to get rid of the algae? Cleaner shrimp?

3) I have not changed the water so far. Should I be doing that?

Thanks in advance for the help.

OzoneParkGuy

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
88   0   0
Welcome to MR.. I advise you to do more research on keeping a saltwater tank and YOU MUST HAVE PATIENCE in order to suceed in this wonderfull hobby. 2 weeks in not enough time to cycle your tank even with all the live rock you state you have. It will not process that fast because your water does not contain the load to process the nitrogen cycle.
No dont change water.
Turn off your lights. You have no animals or corals in there.... research what a cleaner shrimp does. Just because its a cleaner does not mean it cleans the tank. They pick parasites off fish. Thus the name cleaner shrimp.

Research my friend.. you will gain more knowledge that way than what I could or anyone type. Do that and you will be fine.... Good Luck and welcome to MR!!

daisy

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
19   0   0