• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Joey1

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am looking for feedback on this skimmer as I am interested in ordering it later this week.I am interested in seeing how well it performs,as it will be a replacement for another skimmer I bought as an ill informed purchase. I just didn't know any better(newbie).It will be for my 55 gallon,20 gallon sump,softy tank,I am new to the hobby,and per their comparison table seems to be ample,and in my price range
icon_rolleyes.gif
Any comments appreciated,don't want to have to buy third skimmer for this setup...
icon_sad.gif
Joey

joeyipsc

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Joey
I have myself and in order for it to perform well, I had to modify it with a "Beckett" injector. after that was done, then it started performing well. If you do not to make changes to it, go with a Precision Marine Bullet1 or AquaC's EV-150. (I have an EV-150 and it basically works the same way as my modified RD-3. my pump is dolphin 1200 submersible.

joeyipsc

My Home Page
icon_razz.gif

cerreta

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just bought this skimmer and it has been up for 1.5 weeks. It produces good foam in the column, but somewhat wet. The manufacture recommends a 2 week break in period before messing around with it. It is hard to be patient for that long. Anyhow, I am running it on an 80gal AGA with 20 gal sump and get 4 tank turnovers. You should get 5-6 tank turnovers with the supplied pump. I am running my skimmer outside the sump and it recieves all the water flow coming from the main aquarium via a lil giant 2mdq pump. I used the "Skimmer Mathematics" to determine my actual flow output through the exit pipe of the skimmer at 327 gph. The recommended output is 300 gph for this skimmer.
Hey man, for great info, check out the ETSS website and mathematics briefing at: www.superskimmer.com