henrystyle

Bad Mutha Shut Your mouth
Rating - 100%
36   0   0
I've been using Seachem Reef Salts for a few years now and I never had an issue with it. Recently I noticed that my PO4 level in my 120g tank increased. I haven't been feeding heavy and I always run GFO so I couldn't understand what was causing it. Something told me to test my RO/DI water and the newly mixed salt water in my mixing (brute) container. I found a PO4 level of 0.07. My RO water tested at 0.00.
I decided to do another test thinking maybe my brute container is leeching something. I mixed up a small amount of salt & RO water in a clean glass measuring cup and got a reading of 0.14. All tested with a Hanna digital checker. (new battery)

I contacted Seachem and told them about my findings and they said to send them 3 cups of my salt so that they can test it. They stated that there should be no PO4 in the salt because they test every batch. Also said if they find phosphates in my salt, they will reimburse me. Mailing out today.

I haven't done a water change to my tank in a week and my PO4 level is now down to 0.02. unreal.

Anyone else experience this?

TRIGGERMAN

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
172   0   0