Kaz289

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
I am in need of your knowledge again, Be gentle im still learning. I have had my first salt tank up and running for about a 15 months now, when I started I only kept fish but now have expanded into the world of corals. nothing major just a leather and some zoe's so far. I also have about 20-25 lbs of live rock.

My question or questions is when I started I used Crushed Coral because I thought it would look nicer and be easier to maintain then sand. I have since researched this and think I made a rookie mistake. It is hard to keep clean and think it may be contibuting to poor water quality specificly my pH is not stable. I would like to remove the Cc and replace with sand. I am wondering should I remove my fish and corals and place them in a holding area while I do this change or will they be ok. Also my tank is a 55 gal how deep should the bed be and what kind of sand should I use. Is live sand really live after sitting on a shelf ? or should I use a mix of my established Cc with the new sand.

Thanks in advance..

M

mamiereefer

Rating - 100%
4   0   0
make sure you get all live sand its no to much. it cos me 28 dollars a bag when i got it. I think live sand is good but I'm about to take it all out. I want to go just live rock no sand. Maybe ill leave 1 " not sure yet I'm afraid i might get a high spike...

Social D

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hmm live sand is kind of a waste of money really as given time the normal sand you add will turn live in no time at all.
Replacing crushed coral with sand wont really make the tank any better if you feel its contributing to water deficiency as both will trap detrius ...

Many reefers prefer tanks without sand as its claimed it keep the tank cleaner, I guess it does to a point but looks crap, Personally i prefer calcium chips that dont clog up detrius so much and dont blow about in the flow.