Bombel

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok so a little info. This is my first tank ever! I already have the tank waiting for the stand to come in later this week. I could use some help deciding what else to get. This is what i plan on so far any input would be nice.

Lighting- ai vega with new controller
Sand/substrate- bio active arag alive black
Live rock- 35 pounds

Won't even think about inverts / fish till tank will finish cycling .

Theres a spot for a small refugium in the back so I think il put some chaeto in there if I actually find any around my lfs but haven't see any yet. My only concern is lighting for the fuge.

The im protein skinner in place of 1 of the media baskets

I'm thinking of ordering the in tank media basket to replace the stock 1 and putting purigen , chemi pure elite and a filter floss.

As for salt I will buy the bucket of instant ocean reef crystals.

Like i said earlier I'm brand new at this so any advice would be nice. Il keep you guys posted.

Last edited:

Bombel

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also I could use some advice for water changes. I have a ro/di system set up in the backyard . I'm probably going to make the water collect in anew brute 33g trash can I got and make my saltwater mix in there. I have a cheap pump and heater to help with the mix. What I was going to do was once its mixed take the water up to the 2nd floor in 5 gallon buckets and siphon it into the tank.

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I started my 38 Nuvo with 60 lbs live sand and 25 lbs live rock. I put an Hydor Slim Skim Nano skimmer in my Nuvo 38 and the In Tank replacement basket in the other chamber. The In Tank is what the Nuvo really should come with, not the cheap ones that come with the tank. I'm using a similar mix in the In Tank except I use the Blue/white pads cut for the top chamber which I change as needed.