A

Anonymous

I am looking for a 180g tank and lo and behold I see someone has one for sale in my local paper, he's asking $450 OBO. Can anyone tell me what I should look for, I guess I look for scratches and find out if it leaks??? He also has a SEALIFE, 72" reef light $1400 OBO ... not sure how a system can be that much unless it is Ice Caps or he has extra bulbs or something. Maybe I am missing something but I haven't seen to many systems that cost that much new, maybe a nice canopy is included??? Any tips on buying used equipment would be appreciated since I am new to reefing and plan on giving this guy a call tomorrow.

Dave

A

Anonymous

Hey Dave,

I just bought a used 180g acrylic tank with a Oak canopy and stand(really nice craftsman work)for $800.00 from my LFS(really great guy, i do most of my dealings with him and occasionally he gets in used tanks for sale that he personally guarantees on leaks etc.), it also came with a coralife NO ballast with water proof end plugs and bulbs.I'm in the process of switching from a 58g Oceanic Reef Ready Tank(bought this used from the same LFS and haven't had any problems for 8 months).I did alot of price searching on the web and different magazine ads to get a comparision(kinda helps me feel better i guess on getting this tank). The average price for a new 180g acrylic tank
was between $700 to $850 just for the tank. prices for a canopy & stand varied between $450 to $600, so you can see how the $$$ can add up.As many reefers have always stated this hobby isn't cheap, but for a budget minded person it can still be rewarding if your willing to do the homework and take the time to find those great deals.Even though i have alot of faith in my LFS i still asked him what is important to look for in buying a used acrylic tank(since this was my first acrylic tank) and he was very willing and helpful.Heres some basics he gave me: