Reefr

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All, I'm a newb to reefing. I've got a new tank setup with approx 30lbs live rock, 30lbs live sand and filled with natural saltwater. I have the tank cycling now and its a week old, I've been reading some about dripping kalk in the tank when topping off with water.

My question is, if I am using NSW do I need to use kalk or will the natural levels of calcium be sufficient?

Thanks all in advance..

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Reefr":1fr5k3pf said:
Hi All, I'm a newb to reefing. I've got a new tank setup with approx 30lbs live rock, 30lbs live sand and filled with natural saltwater. I have the tank cycling now and its a week old, I've been reading some about dripping kalk in the tank when topping off with water.

My question is, if I am using NSW do I need to use kalk or will the natural levels of calcium be sufficient?

Thanks all in advance..

In the beginning you shouldn't need to supplement anything. As the tank matures, it depends on what type of corals you have in the tank and how often you change the water. If you have a lighter bioload and change a good percentage of the water each week you may not need to does kalk at all.

Reefr

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Lawdawg":2v638iah said:
In the beginning you shouldn't need to supplement anything. As the tank matures, it depends on what type of corals you have in the tank and how often you change the water. If you have a lighter bioload and change a good percentage of the water each week you may not need to does kalk at all.

Ah, makes sense. Once I get to a point of adding in the kalk, is it ok for it to be mixed with NSW instead of RO/DI? Not sure if this matters in how the mix is broken down before it is dripped in.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0