A

Anonymous

I am reconsidering the use of MH's over a new sps tank (24" x 18"). I only have room for a single MH pendent. I was considering using a 250 watt 6500K bulb. Will this provide me with a decent color/appearence?? I have no prior experience with MH's and am concerned about buying the right bulb.

A

Anonymous

Hi,

6500K bulb would not give you the color and pleasant look. It is very yellow, in fact, i consider it as UGLY. Most people would buy this bulb and supplement it with actinic bulbs. Actually, there is a new bulb with 12,000K. this bulb suppose to give you the perfect white and blue color that reefers have to use 6500K and actinics bulbs to achieve. My next bulb would definitely be this 12000K bulb. The price for this bulb is $98, the price for 6500K is $59. If you buy 6500K and buy actinics bulbs to supplement it, the cost would come out to be equal (give and take a few bucks) there are advantages for using 12,000K though, operating cost would be less b/c you only spend the money on electricity for just the hallide bulbs, not the actinic bulbs. Furthermore, it would dramatically reduce access at the top of your tank, cuz you don't have to try to jamp 4 actinics and two MH bulbs into the same area.

A

Anonymous

I am currently running 2, 175watt 14000 bulbs. It is really blue almost to much so, but still looks good. When the time comes to change I will probably go with 10000 bulbs.

James

A

Anonymous