earl123

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
61   0   0
Hello
having some algae issues and I was thinking of adding a biopellet reactor but now having 2nd thoughts. The algae is almost like hair but short and green. Here's my most recent parameters:
ph 8.2
amonia 0-.25
nitrite 0
nitrate 0
calc 450
alk 6.0 dkh 2.17 mq/l
salinity around 1.026
The tank is a 180 gallon, been up for about 6 yrs, mixed reef, Deltec skimmer, 6 bulb ati power module, I run cheato in the sump, dual carbon gfo reactor. Water changes every two to three weeks about 40 gallons. Been blasting my rocks every few days to get rid of the extra crud. Recently did a big water change and scrubbed the rocks to get rid of any algea, two mp 40's for circulation. Any advice would be appreciated, I feed twice a day. Corals every few days. Just trying to figure out if there's anything that looks off here that could be causing the algae. Thanks,
Mark

Greagzter

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
63   0   0
I am not an expert, but this is just a thought. You lights, how long ago have you changed them? And have you tried running GFO?
I have been reading mixed things about the biopellet reactor. Besides you levels seem to be good, as far as I understand a biopellet reactor is used to promote the bacteria growth to take out nutrients from the system.

earl123

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
61   0   0
hey
I change my lights every year or so, last changed them about 6 months ago. I do run GFO and carbon in a dual brs reactor. I've been changing my gfo every week for the past few weeks. Prior to that I would change it every two months or so. I'm thinking maybe it was getting exhausted a lot quicker than I was changing it, so the phos was building up. I'm now thinking against the bio pellets as I hear they are for Nitrates and in my situation they are 0 so I think it's a phosphate issue.

jackson6745

SPS KILLER
Rating - 99%
201   2   0