BaaMNYC

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
324   0   0
I remember having a brief conversation with stargzr a while back and talking about other people's tanks and with the right setup you can possible go without water changes at all or very few water changes a year.

I know water changes replenish the cal/alk/mag and trace minerals as well as export out phos and nitrates. But if you are dosing and have the right macro algae and running carbon/gfo wouldn't that cover the basis of what I listed? Would water changes be necessary then?

Interested to see others feelings about this and experiences.

Rating - 97.4%
74   2   0
If you can adequately balance the imports and exports of nutrients then WC's become less important. For most folks, the easiest way to ensure you are doing that is via regular WC's. Many advanced aquarists are less diligent about WC's than you would think, though many are also super rigorous. I'm very lax about it myself, but I have a lot of experience and know my system well enough to sense what is going on.

BaaMNYC

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
324   0   0
I don't do any changes at all, aside from toping off a gallon each month to replace what the skimmer takes out.

Can you elaborate? Topping off one gallon a month or what? Ro water?

At the very least I refill my Ato 5 gallons every 5-7 days since I'm only using a 5 gallon container. Refill my part a &b for dosing and change out my clean out skimmer ,carbon and gfo every month.

It feels wasteful to throw out water for water change if it's not necessary since I'm dosing and running carbon gfo and macro. I may just be throwing money out the window.

The water I'm throwing out has everything I'm putting in. Lol

Jim

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
64   0   0
I understand that with experience comes knowledge but I think with water changes you eliminate a possibility that something will go wrong. I've heard experienced reefers say " I can tell when something is off just by looking at the corals".