A

Anonymous

I am somewhat new to mixing kalkwater. When I mix the solution using Seachem's Kalkwater mix (calcium hyroxide) with my RO/DI water, the water stays cloudy forever. If i mix the kalk with store bought "drinking water" it settles out within a few hours. If I use tap water (from my kitchen faucet) it also settles out within a few hours. It is only when I use the water from my RO/DI unit that I have a problem. The unit is a 6 stage RO/DI and it's about 10 month old. I changed the 1st stage sediment filter after 6 month, as recommended by the manufacturer. I am planning to change all of the filters as recommended.

My house has a "whole house" water softner up stream of the RO unit. The incoming water service to my house passes though the water softner. I don't know if this has any bearing on my problem. I just thought I would mention it.

What should I test for to help determine the problem with this RO/DI unit?

Thanks!

Louey

randy holmes-farley

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are lots of issues that impact settling of solids. The one that you may be seeing here is that solids settle out faster when larger, and that many mineral solids aggregate when put in water that has some salt in it (like your tap water) compared to pure water. Putting fine sand into a tank of freshwater and having it cloudy, then seeing it settle on adding salt is an example, and you may be seeing the same thing.

Also, a limewater container with the lid open may never appear settled because CO2 is entering at the top, diffusing some way into the liquid, and then precipitating as CaCO3 (at least this is my interpretation of what I see). I've seen this myself: it appears to be unsettled for days when covered solutions of the same material appear to have already settled.

Consequently, I would not assume that there is any problem witha the RO/DI.