trudismith

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been keeping a 100 gallon reef tank since March 2002 and I have had very high alkalinity almost from the start. The last test I performed was with the LaMotte test kit and the result was 520 ppm. I divided that by 17.85 to get the dKH — 29! This doesn't surprize me since I have getting results of from 17dKH and climbing steadily upwards for months. I have tried 5 different tests with comparable results. All my corals are dying and there is not much coralline algae growing on my rock but a plague of hair algae is developing. Test results: Salinity = .025; pH = 8.3; Alk = 29dKH; Ca = 375; Ammonia, Nitrites, Nitrates = 0. I am supplementing with: Leng Sy Reef Solution, Mark Weiss Coral Vital and Coral Vital LSB, C-Balance, Seachem Buffer, Seachem Reef Calcium. I have done a 40% water change in the past 2 days using distilled water and Crystal Sea salt mix.
Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated!

randy holmes-farley

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The usual problem with high alkalinity is low calcium.

If you are adding C-balance to maintain calcium, then the alkalinity will always stay high, and you may never attain reasonable calcium levels. The only caveat to this diagnosis is that if you are using Seachem salt mix, then the alkalinity measurement is confounded by the excessive borate alkalinity in that mix.

Here's an article that tells you how to correct the alkalinity sitiuation, but you'll need to know the calcium level before deciding what to do:

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/nov2002/chem.htm

Good luck!

trudismith

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0