waynotcars

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Hi,

I need advice on choosing test kits. I have been using API kits for a fowler for 2 years. Now upon conversion to reef, I am not sure what brand test kits to buy. I don't know whether to buy a Master Kit such as Red Sea Reef Master or buy individual kits because one test kit for one parameter may be better than another. What I mean, for example, say one brands Phosphate kit is better than another brand but another brands nitrate kit is better. So can you guys help me out? I am not really interested in ammonia, nitrite or ph as the API kits I have for those seem to work well. I am interested in reef kits, phosphates, nitrates, silicates, iodine, etc., etc.

I cannot afford to buy electronic devices for tests right now and after reading online about problems with a certain electronic phosphate kit I'm not sure they're even worth it.

So any guidance would be appreciated.

tentacles

cephalopod enthusiast
Rating - 95%
38   2   0
API is fine for NO2, NO3, NH3 and pH, but go with Salifert for KH, Mg, Ca, I, Cu, etc. They're much more expensive than the API, but worth it. As for PO4, don't even bother buying a test kit, I've only ever found them to be horribly inaccurate. Hanna meters, however are great, but $200+. Fortunately now, they make "checkers" that are under $60. I haven't tried one yet, but from what I hear they are quite accurate. (If you have the money, hanna has also started making checkers for other params, and I also hear that they're quite good.)

Hope that helps :)

Boomer

Bomb Technician (EOD)
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tent