A

Anonymous

I have an 11 tank(20L) tier system with aproximately 80watts (flourescent) of light per tank. I'll be using two nice canisters and a homemade skimmer for filtration. Please give me some nice and "simple" suggestions for propagation (corals, seahorses, clowns, etc...), or even suggestions on the system.

Thanks,

Dragoon

Len

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no idea how to breed clowns (shame on me!) or seahorses, but they are more labor intensive then corals. I personally would consider propogating all species of photosynthetic soft corals, mushrooms, and polyps with the amount of lighting you have. I do recommend you install a skimmer into the equation since you'll have a lot of chemical toxins floating about in a prop system.

That's not to say fish (gobies, clowns, basslets, seahorses) aren't a good idea, but I have no experience breeding them. It's always something I've always wanted to pursue though, but time, space, and money don't permit it right now.

liquid

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is there a way you could draw up your existing propagation tank setup and upload a pic of it to this thread? I'd love to see how you have it currently setup. Also this way others will know how you're setup and maybe can offer some suggestions on system design.

Things to prop...the first thing that comes to mind are Banggai cardinalfish. Pretty straight forward as they're live-born and their first food is freshly hatched baby brine shrimp.

Do you have any specific things you'd like to prop? Are you more interested in fish or coral?

Shane

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd like to do Seahorses and Maroon Clowns, but they seem pretty labor intensive. I was also thinking of using a few of the tanks for coral propagation. I'll try to get a picture of the system or at least a diagram for you this weekend.

OOOOy yOOOO
OOOOy yOOOO
OOOOy yOOOO
OOOOy yOOOO
OOOOy yOOOO
xxxxx
This is a rough
sketch of the system on my basement wall.