• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

bertoni

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd like to make my own "feeding time" switch to
turn off power heads or my Bak Pak for 60 minutes.
Home Depot sells timer switches that turn lights
on for 60 minutes. I'd like the inverse function.
I guess a double-pole, single throw would do it?
Is that terminology correct? Has anyone found
something like this?

I did some searching, but couldn't find anything.
Sorry if this is obvious, but I have no experience
in this area.

jemichaeliv

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I bought a timer at my local Shopko it was a electronic timer 19.95$ and it and turn on and of 5 times each day at different times each day.

Try your local places like walmart or target. I dont know if you have a shopko but thats where I got mine here in colorado.

jbash

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been lurking and hoping you would get some answers. I'd like to do the same thing for tanks that don't have a wavemaker that includes this function. I'm sure there is some way to build such a device using a relay (I think) but I don't know how to control the time. Electronics isn't my thing but I'd be very interested if someone knew about parts and a schematic to do this relatively cheaply. (I guess I'm assuming there isn't a cheap prebuilt device to do this--what I think we want is a device that we can push/click to turn off electric to pump when we go to feed and it will automatically start again in xx minutes--right?)

I'll keep checking back and hope someone with some do-it-yourself electronics expertise can help. I did ask at a Radio Shack once and got replies that it was doable but no help on doing it!

jim b

bertoni

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for all the pointers. I should have been
more clear in my original post. The timers I
see at Home Depot are the twist-turn timers,
design for keeping lights on for up to 60 minutes.