• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

nin0

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im going to purchase this HQI 400w PFO ballast & im wondering about the wiring. I currently have a pendant that holds a 175w bulb and i want to know if it would be easy to wire these two together(the ballast and the pendant)....im not too good with electrical stuff hehe...any advice would be apreciated
icon_biggrin.gif

D-Nak

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hold on a sec.... do HQIs come in a 175 watt bulb? I thought they only came in 150 and 250 watts (and above). Are you talking about a 175 mogul socket? If so, I'm confused as to what you are attempting to do.

D-Nak

billzie

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Wiring from ballast to bulb is the same: hot, neg, ground. The sockets are definately different, even b/t the different wattages of DE (hqi), so you'll have to get the appropriate socket installed and have a tempered glass shield installed if you don't already have one, and you can't have a fan flowing right onto the DE bulb or anywhere within the pendant. HTH, Bill.

Big_fish

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Bill,
I beg to differ. When dealing with the 400W bulbs such as Ushio the bulbs run better on an HQI ballast than a typical core and coil. I believe the 10000K Ushio bulbs are actually designed for an HQI ballast. You can see a big difference when you fire them up with the HQI ballast.
Regards,
Scott

billzie

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Scott, Um, I talking only about DE/HQI bulbs here, I guess I just assummed he was going to convert his pendants to DE when he mentioned the HQI ballast. Shame on me for assumming someone would be taking a step toward the future of MH lighting,
icon_wink.gif