• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

platapus

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im trying to build a Beckett skimmer :roll: I have began a log that will follow me through this, I hope to have it complete by this weekend. Feel free to crituque my style 8O This is my first attempt at building a protein skimmer.

This is for a 100 gallon reef, with a heavy bio-load, so Im shooting for a skimmer that would have a 400 - 500 gallon rating?

The link is http://www.bluechunks.net/reef/skimmer

-plat

reefland

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thats a mighty big air value you got there. If you looking for something in the 400 gallon rating I would suggest you consider a dual beckett injector design and a wider reaction chamber.

But what you are building looks fine for a 100 gallon tank.

Here are some pictures of a custom skimmer I had Reef Sciences build me. It might give you some ideas:

rs-skimmer02.jpg

rs-foaming01.jpg

To reach the 300 to 400 gallon rating, just making it a dual injector and making the reaction chamber taller is all that is needed.

Hopefully the pics give you some ideas for your air valve and such.

platapus

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I like that skimmer! You can easily upgrade it to dual beckett - it looks like?

Do they have a website? (Reef Sciences)

what size pump is on your skimmer?

Building a skimmer like this will help me understand what I want when time comes to purchase one.

The air ajustment gate valve I used was something I have lying around, so I choose to use it, although it is overkill ;)

reefland

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
platapus":35zq6p4u said:
I like that skimmer! You can easily upgrade it to dual beckett - it looks like?

Correct. All the internal plumbing work is in place. Just remove the plug and screw in the riser tube.

Do they have a website? (Reef Sciences)

No. But they can be reached vai e-mail.

[email protected]

what size pump is on your skimmer?