• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

05dr

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The tank is a 125 gallon fresh water (gasp!). I am a total rookie when it come to plumbing and have many questions regarding how to optimize flow. I have a HOB prefilter with 2 1” PVC drains (Marine life Aqatics – uses 2x 1 ¼” u tubes, rated by the manufacturer as being able to drain 1500 gph although I have my doubts), a 30 gallon acrylic sump which I plan to add 2 1” bulkheads to, and a submersible return pump with a 1” barb return(1640 gph with a max head of 13’ 5”).

1. What size return tubing should I use to reduce head and what is the best way to step down diameters to ¾ or ½ inch returns?
2. How many return outlets can I use and what diameter is best? I would like to use the loc-line returns (1/2” or ¾”) with flared nozzles in an effort to prevent detritus from settling on the bottom and create some chaotic water movement.
3. Can I mate clear u-tubes to pvc to come over the back of the aquarium for the returns? If not then what is the best way to return water over the back side of an aquarium?
4. What is the best way to mount airline check valves in the siphoning u tubes? I understand the hole drilling on top but what should I use to glue it? Will standard silicone work?
5. I am planning on using both a check valve and a hole in the return pipes(just below the water line) to prevent back siphoning. Should the check valve come before or after the ball valve on the return and which model of check valve will work best mounted in the vertical position?
6. Although flex-pvc seems easy enough on the return I was wondering if vinyl attached to insertes would be adequate for the drains?

Thanks in advance for any help and feel free to ask more questions if I was unclear.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
05dr":32a251xl said:
The tank is a 125 gallon fresh water
  • *HOB prefilter with 2 1” PVC drains