• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

bvgoor

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I'm fairly new to reef aquarium, and still in the learning process, but I could use some advice,

I,m planning to setup a reef tank, I allready own a 100 gallon tank, I would like to use a sump type setup, but my problem is I have plenty of room on the same level behind the show tank, but haven't any room under the tank,

My question, is it posible to have a sump on the same level as the show tank.

Thanks in advance

Bas

SteveP

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, they can be at the same level. The return pump will work the same way, and the display tank will siphon the same way as it would if it were higher. The siphon action will work to try to keep the water levels of both tanks at the same height. Take that into consideration, btw, because once the pump is turned off the tank levels will continue to siphon until they are at the same level. Make sure neither of them overfills!

Steve
8{I

bvgoor

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Steve,

Thanks for the information, I see your point in to be carefull for overfilling one of the tanks,

But what would be the best way of draining water from the show tank to the sump ?

I didn't mention it before but the show tank has a hole in the bottem, not used now!

Thanks again.

Larry Grenier

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You first need to define "same level". Do you mean the top of the tank or the bottom. To put it another way, are both tanks the same height?

bvgoor

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry if I didn't supply sufficient information,

The tanks have the same height, how ever I have the option to install the sump tank on a higher level than the main tank, if that's beter or helps please let me know

Thanks,

Bas

csanchez77

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How do you intend to connect the two?