• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

tld

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm building an external overflow for a friend. (For whatever reason, he does not want to drill his tank.) I'm looking for suggestions as to how to glue the internal baffle in the outer box of the overflow.

The first seam will be easy. The second and last seams will be harder because my space will be limited - particularly on the last seam because I'll have to put my hand down in the box to reach the seam (and honestly I'm not very good with Weldon #4 yet). I'm concerned about dripping glue all over the inside of the box. I guess I could silicone the seams, but it won't look as nice.

This is my plan:
Lap sand the edges of the 2 side pieces and the internal baffle.
Glue to front of box. Let cure.
Flip over and glue to back of box. Do the baffle first so if I bump the box with my clumsy hands, it will only affect one seam.
Flush Trim and lap sand bottom edges.
Glue bottom. Again, do baffle first for same reason as above.
Flush trim and round over edges. Probably polish too.

If anyone has any suggestions for glueing the baffle, I would appreciate it.

Teresa

fergy

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This project would fall under the "design" phase...

You're thinking about how to make the box incorrectly...the sides and the inside baffles can all be the same width. Attach them to the front plate first, then attach the back plate to that assembly, then trim off the excess from the front and back plates. If you use the pin gap method, and very carefully apply the cement where the inside baffle meets the edges, the cement will wick all the way through the seam. Try using slightly larger pins to allow more gap, so the solvent doesn't seal the edge of the gap near you first.

tld

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0