• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

A

Anonymous

I have a thread in the sump about building a Koi pond. Well, now I have unearthed what appears to be the sewer line to my house. It's smack dab in the middle of where I want to build my pond.

Any plumbers out there? Any advice on how to move this? I understand the crap flows down hill. Is there more to it than that?

How can you cut into this line in a sanitary way? This looks like a nasty job!

Louey

Attachments

• dscn5172.jpg
    dscn5172.jpg
    140.1 KB · Views: 5,889
A

Anonymous

I'm no expert but dont you just have to shut it off then cut, re route it towards the side of your house (next to the wall and out of your way). It's just PVC it can't be to difficult, but then again I've never done it before. My landlord at one of my past residences who I might add was almost as bright as a 15w lightbulb did something very similar. Perhaps I don't give him enough credit or maybe he had experience in the sewer industry. Regardless I'm sure it isn't rocket science. Just alot of nasty crap :lol: and alot of rain or shine pvc adhesive. I would think about flushing your line abit before you cut into it though like maybe flush several times at least :lol:.

hdtran

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There's codes and such about pitch (so many fractions of inches per foot running downhill), number of bends, and how sharp a bend you can take.

Unfortunately, better have a professional plumber do this relocation for you, or get friendly with the building inspection people... I'm not sure whether or not a building permit would be necessary for moving the main sewer line, but I have a feeling that it is.

Carpentersreef

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Wow Louey, it's easy to tell that you live in a warm climate!
I recently had to move a section of sewer pipe in order to accomodate a basement addition that I was doing - our pipes here have to be 8 feet underground!