• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

CareyMarie

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!

I have finally talked my husband into making me a custom reef tank! It will be 10 feet long, 2 feet wide and 2 feet deep. I am wondering about the glass. What type can I use? How about thickness? Anybody have suggestions on construction?

Hmm, I wonder if this one will be the last best tank... I just keep wanting/needing bigger and bigger...

Thanks!
Carey

FranklinP

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, your tank will be 300 gallons. I have a 24x24x8ft tank that is made of 1/2" acrylic. The top has two opening on each end 16x 3ft each. the center has a brace. The back was blacked out with some blue stick on stuff. I bought the setup at a good price. I am very new to reef tanks and I have learned alot through this site and by purchasing books off the book list. Good luck in your construction. Sounds really neat. You will need a office chair on wheels so you can slide along the front without getting up. :D

Fl_Seagull

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That is going to be some tank!!

GratefulDriver recommends Starphire glass.
http://reefs.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=43522

Another link is: http://reefs.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=409146&highlight=#409146

Starphire is clearer than standard glass.

Thickness is harder to give advise on since how you brace the tank has a lot to do with how thick the glass has to be. Plan on at least 1/2" glass. But, 5/8 to 3/4 may be needed to keep the long sides from bowing.

Few online calculators are design for tanks as large as you are planning. With the final tank weight of ~1000 lbs of glass, a custom tank builder may be a better option for thichness advise.

Acrylics

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0