• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

cdeakle

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a check valve on my GenX2400 return pump from the sump. I keep hearing how bad these are and how they will eventually fail. Since I'm a total newbie when it comes to plumbing I'm asking you guys for help.

What are my alternatives?

tangir1

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Depends on your setup, you maybe able to replace the check valve with an anti-siphon device (a hole above the water line) or by alterating your plumbing setup.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've never used check valves. A hole in the pipe above the water line, as indicated by Tangirl works just fine. Test of course!

Jim

Aquadude

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just make sure that you make cleaning that hole part of your maintenance schedule. If it plugs up you've got some serious mop-up work. I have used the wye valves in the past. They work great in my opinion. Never had a leak in one of those. I still have 2 from my old tank setup. I don't use a sump anymore.

liquid

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm going to shadow this to the DIY forum as I'm sure the moderators there will be able to give you added insight as well.

Shane

cdeakle

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also, can someone please explain to me about the how's and why's of creating this anti-siphon hole?

I'm extremly grateful for your help.....

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Puff,
I have a small hold drilled just above the water line on my hose coming out of my sump. That way, if you lose power, the hose does not become a reverse siphon and empty the tank back into the sump (which would eventually overflow). As soon as the pump stops (eg.,power outage), air travels from the drilled hole, breaking the siphon. Water continues to flow out of my overflow, until that level is reached, and the cycle comes to a halt.