• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

grav

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've never built a stand for an Acrlyic tank before... might as well start with something big right? This is a 4ft*2ft*30inch tank.

I know that unlike glass, which needs only be supported on the 4 corners, these tanks need full bottom support, and I understand the debate on foam v no-foam under the tank.

My question is, HOW WELL do the bottom and sides need to be supported?

In a 4ft glass tank the walls of the tank supply all the support needed, and a simple 1*3 joist running the length of the stand is fine, even without a center support. Is that the case here? Does the bottom of the tank just need a little more support.... as in build a stand the same as I would for a glass tank, then add plywood?

I would REALLY rather not have a center support, so that I can have double doors opening to each other allowing more room to get a stuff in and out. I'm planning to use 2*6 joists, 2*4 uprights (connected with lap joints) a center support on the back wall, and 1/2 or 5/8 plywood on the top and bottom.

Thanks for the help in advance.

Fatal Morgana

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For a 4 feet wide tank, you may not need full support. two or three cross bars/joists can be used instead. I recommand foam, since it is very difficult to make the bottom perfectly flat.

You can built a removable center support so that you can get thing in and out, and once thing are set, you put the support back on. This is how I did mine for a 110 gal.

I use 1/2 inch hardwood plywood (4X8 sheet), with 2X4 uprights (6 legs) For joists. I use 2X6 going lengthwide. That's on a 48X18 tank.

I have a short 48X24 tank, and the stand is make out of 2X4 mostly. That one has four legs, and each legs is made of triple 2X4. Two brackets per leg, and there is a cross beam across the middle with slight offset. I can put a military tank on top of that stand. :D

grav

Experienced Reefer