• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Meloco14

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am thinking of building my own version of a nanocube, roughly 18" all around. I have never used acrylic before so I could use any advice. I know cell cast is a better material than extruded, but will it make a difference in a tank this small? I was also thinking of using 1/4" acrylic. At first I was going to use 3/8 so I didnt need to use bracing, I want a clean cut cube look with no top or eurobracing, but there is a significant price jump between 1/4 and 3/8, so I will probably use 1/4. Would I need any significant bracing with this? I plan on bracing the bottom edges, but would prefer nothing up top if possible. I am trying to do this as economically as possible, but it seems like if I need to use cell cast acrylic it would be cheaper to just buy a standard 30 gallon cube. Building my own would sure be fun though. Thanks for the help.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
>...but will it make a difference in a tank this small?

Yes, it will. Make sure you get quality cell-casted. 1/4 sounds too filmy to me, and I will either go with 3/8 at minimum WITH bracing. I feel that the price difference (maybe you want to check out some other suppliers) does not justify to take the rish with the thinner material.

Yes, for a small tank, it is usually cheaper to get the commerically made one instead (exception is a sump). But there is so much fun in DIY and the pride (sic., not price) you have that something you make yourself.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Silly question maybe, but if the bottom edges are joined to the bottom, then why would you need any braces on the bottom?

Normally the top is braced because there is no top....

Acrylics

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0