• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Darkbaron1192

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey there!

I have a 125 gallon reef tank, and I am creating a double stack, (two 29-gallon tanks, one on top, and one inside an iron cage stand.) I can work on F-15 aircraft no problem, but I have little plumbing experience. I created a manifold for my tank, but linking 3 tanks together is a little confusing.

The problem I am running into is this:

The reason I am making an external fuge is for the pleasing look, and ease of maintenance. I can only fit a 20gH in my stand, and I want an excellent fuge. The big deal here, is power outages. Its almost like when it rains a mist, the power goes out. this isnt too much of a problem except when it does, my siphon tube sucks down 5 gallons of water into the sump, thus causing it's decommission. I have a standard rinkydink overflow, and run out of funds to get a nice, expensive overflow box. I need a temporary solution to a long term problem that will get upgraded.

I want to have overflow to the top 29, baffled in two areas with no pump. The inner portion will have a nice refugium, hopefully with relatively little sloshing, that I can keep looking nice, and eventually house seahorses (2). The bottom 29 will gravity-feed from the top 29, and be loaded to the brim with chaeto. what I want to do here is add an acrylic wedge where the water falls, causing a tumbling current to ...tumble the chaeto ball, over and under a baffle, to a pump that brings the water back to the DT.

The chaeto tank can remain half full, to accommodate any backsiphoning from either of the other tanks, giving me a 15-20gallon leeway. I can NOT have anymore floods, the wife will annhilate me and I dont feel like replacing carpet.