• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Rebels23

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
Hey Everyone,

I've seen some discussion on DIY forums for reef lighting done with LEDs. Not regular LEDs, these are the super white and blue LEDs (5mm). I've had some experience using these for my RC Car and Helicopter projects, and they are amazing! Just wondering if anyone else has thought about this.

Rebels23

[ May 18, 2003, 05:46 AM: Message edited by: Rebels23 ]

Rebels23

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
Hey Guys,

I am seriously considering doing a DIY on this. Would anyone be interested in possibly getting a group buy together for some LEDs? The price goes down considerably bought in bulk. they look fantastic on my RC car (if anyone wants to see pics of that I can post that). I am going to do a little more research on this, but here is a cool link :
http://www.servangle.net/reef/led/

Rebels23

Rebels23

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
I took some pics of my LEDs. It is in my gallery if anyone is interested. I just tried putting the Blue LEDs over my 55G (two of them) and I got a very nice actinic look in my tank. Surprisingly strong too. It was very nice and had a rippling affect too. I think I will definitely consider this as an option for my actinic lighting as it uses practically no electricty and produces no heat. Depending on how I create the circuit, I can make them dim too for a nice sun set effect.

Rebels23

Rebels23

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
Hey House,

I am not sure I understand your post above.

I have to admit, it might take a good number of LEDs to light up a 55 Gallon tank. I haven't had the time to try it yet and am still waiting to get my Metal Hallide setup. After I set that up, I will try some of the blue LEDs. Probably would serve me better to just get some VHO actinics, but aesthetically, if I can make the blue LEDs work, I'll give it a try.

Rebels23