JonnyIce

Used as bait
Rating - 100%
22   0   0
Hello! I purchased a used BH1000 in the summer and just got around to hooking 'er up! After about 2hrs running last night, the foam started rising towards the collection cup and all seemed well...I got home early this morning and it was still running nicely...Woke up this morning and its making those gargling noises---where the pump seems to make sporadic jolts to push the foam to the cup, but then falls down...Is this normal? I haven't opened up the air valve yet...should I? Sorry for the dumb questions but this is my first time time skimmer lol--thanks!

Last edited:

marrone

The All Powerful OZ
Staff member
Rating - 98.8%
80   1   0
First, make sure the skimmer is submerged in the correct water level. Then you need to open the air value up until the foam starts to reach the cup. Do it slowly and you'll eventually get the skimmer dialed it. Even once you get the level correct you're going to need to keep an eye on it until you get an idea of where it should be.

JonnyIce

Used as bait
Rating - 100%
22   0   0
I ended up moving chambers and tightening up a washer :-X...I got this skimmate after about 24hrs.

e137083d.jpg

GROSSR

Rating - 100%
12   0   0
I could be wrong, but, my unit started doing exactly that last night. I have a BioCube 29 and I have the input in chamber 1 and the output in chamber 2.

I have had filter material go up the input pipe and do this. Also, I just had this problem this past week, where the the pump is pushing out the water and it seems like the pump is not doing its job. I took the pump apart, cleaned it nicely and that didn't do the trick. I actually started looking online for a new pump.