A

Anonymous

and of course I have many questions on the topic! I was at Home Depot (kind of like crack to me) the other day in the lighting section (getting ballast, of course) and I ran across their MH selection. They have ballast for all the various sizes (175, 250, 400watt) for cheap (relativiley) and lights, whoah - they have phillips 175watt MH's for $28. Can I use either of these products on my tank? I pretty much figure the light's are a no-go, but what about the ballast? There isn't anything special about aquaria ballast, correct?

Thanks,
Joe

A

Anonymous

... *OR* you could buy the lamp and then go to a theatre supply company and buy a "full blue" kelvin boosting filter. That's what I did and I saved $$$.

-Nathan

A

Anonymous

I'm not an expert, but I'd think a ballast is a ballast. Actually, if the MH lights are 5500 K or higher, they'd probably work, too. You'd want some actinic with them, though, if they're that low K, I'd think.

------------------
My drug habit cost less, but reef colors are better!

A

Anonymous

Please do tell Nathan. Can you give a brief run-down on what you did? Is the filter you used a colored glass that changes the color temp of the bulb? Do you have any algae problem? Have you had success with any corals?

Thanks in advance,
Joe

A

Anonymous

Hmm...

I have considered getting the stuff from Home Depot (HD) too but in the end I decided to source it from a lighting supplier.

The ballasts will work without any problems but the bulbs themselves are questionable. They usually don't generate enough blue spectrum that is beneficial to coral growth.

Now daylight is quite yellow to begin with and it's K temperature is about 5000 to 6500K. The bulbs from HD are most likely a 3200K or 4200K if you are lucky. So the HD bulbs are really yellow which won't make your tank look the way you want. But there is more to just looks.