A

Anonymous

I'm new to this whole saltwater thing and I was wondering what would be better to get?
I'm looking to set up a display tank and lionfish look really nice. I'm just curious whats easier, hardier etc.
Anyhelp would be greatly appreciated
Thanks very much
Tom

A

Anonymous

Dwarf Lions are hard to keep, the Volitans, the Black Volitans, to be specific, is what I consider the most beautiful marine fish. Period. I kept one for 5 or 6 years, it was huge. Make sure if you get one that it will eat frozen meat, as you CANNOT feed it guppies and goldfish and expect it to thrive. Freshwater feeder fish do not supply the lion with the proper nutrient balance, and it will die. I used to go buy cheap salt fish ( damsels and that sort ) and give him a live meal, but the majority of his diet was frozen prawn, krill, silversides, stuff like that. Feed it every three to five days, they are binge feeders, not sit down to dinner types. They will engorge themselves to the point that you can see pieces of shrimp bulging out of it's guts. You'll see the live stuff wriggle in there a little ( I derive some sick satisfaction from this, but thats another thread
eek.gif
)

If you get a lion, you are limiting the diversity of other fish to keep with it. Anything that fits in the mouth goes there. THat means anything.......

I would get one. Hell, I would have one now if my girlfriend hadn't insisted on that damn percula clown. "Oooh, look how it wriggles in that anemone! How cute!!" No, look how it wriggles in that stomach!
biggrin.gif

Hope she don't read this or I'm in trouble I love you honey!
wink.gif

A

Anonymous

When you say huge... What do you mean. Also what size tank would I need. I agree with you about the beauty of lionfish. I like the red, but I have not seen a black in person
Thanks again.

A

Anonymous