A

Anonymous

Hello, and TIA for your input,

My LFS has a powder blue tang that is about 6" long. One of the largest and most beautiful I have ever seen. I am considering adding it to my 150 gal, but am conserned that he may not have enough space (5ft long tank), and not knowing how hard they are to keep. Also, will it fight with my purple tang?? I kind of doubt it, but... I am curious about how well they take to prepared food and long term survival. Thanks!

------------------

When did this become a habit instead of a hobby???

A

Anonymous

Adam

I'm no pro, but I put a powder with a yellow
an they did fight. I keep saveral types of fish in my systems and tangs dont mix very
well, Powders seem to be harder to keep
than yellows they comedown with ick very
easy.

David

A

Anonymous

Yes, powders are the most delicate of all the tangs. I would say that I would only have one in a tank by itself with no stressors from outside sources. They are the epitomy of Ich magnets.

------------------
E >< () !) !_! S

A

Anonymous

If I may ask, where do you get the information that powder blue's are so hard?

I own one, after reading in Baensch that they are one of the hardiest of the tangs (and the most aggressive). Mine survived my complete and utter stupidity when after only two days in the tank I compromised my bio-filtration (I dipped my biggest rock). He slowed down, but now he's back to normal. Never a sign of any disease.

This is totally in line with what Baensch says about them.

I keep seeing all over the place that these are ich magnets. Can someone please tell me where you find that? I find it strange that this would be so different than what such a respected author says (and what I have found, at that)

Lisa

------------------
www.lisa-jill.com

A

Anonymous